new thing2

RULES AND FAQS

Team Game Rules

Before the game begins, players may decide they want to play a Team Game. In these games, players will join up with one another to form teams, with the goal of competing against other teams for victory. Here’s how team games work:

  • The number of teams competing in a match is up to the players. A game might consist of just 2 opposing teams or it might be a 3 team free-for-all.
  • The number of players per team doesn’t matter, so long as each player gets to control at least 1 faction. Teams are allowed to be made up of a different number of players. One team might be made up of 3 players, while another team might be made up of only 1 player.
  • Each team must have the same number of factions under its control at the start of the game. The number of factions each player controls doesn’t matter, just so long as each team is even. So if Team A has 3 players, and each player controls 1 faction, Team B, which only has 1 player, needs to have 3 factions (all under the same player’s control) to make them even.
  • The number of rounds the game is played to is still set according to the number of starting factions. Winning the game plays out like it normal, except a faction wins the game for its team now, not just its owner.
  • Factions on the same team are considered friendly factions. This allows them to perform the annex action on one another. It also has an impact on how ties are determined at the end of the game. That said, factions are still essentially independent entities who can’t share spaces, combine scores, or exchange turns.
  • Players on the same team share special cards and share a “hand”. So whenever a faction takes a point of interest, its the team who draws and holds the card, not the player or the faction. That said, when a player on a team wants to a play a card on behalf of one of his factions, he must get the consent of the other players on his team to do so.
  • Whenever a special card refers to a player or players (like the Diplomacy card), substitute the word player/players with the word team/teams when playing the card.

Start Location Cards are handled a little differently in team games. Instead of 2 possible cards being dealt out at a time per player, the cards are dealt out per team. Each team collectively makes a decision about which start location card it wants to keep, and returns the other. This process repeats itself until each team has kept enough start location cards to correspond to its total number of factions. Once every team has enough start location cards, each team reveals its choices and assigns its factions to the locations its chosen.

Four Faction Games

Presently, in a 4 player match, each player is supposed to control 2 factions each. However, there may be times in a 4 player game when players only want to control 1 faction each. In the designer’s opinion, the game plays best with at least 5 factions on the map, however, if players want to play a 4 faction match, it can be done. In this case, the number of rounds the game should be set to is 6.

FAQs

Drone – If I play this card when attacking a territory, and all of the defending units are removed, but I don’t have enough eligible units to take the space, is the local resistance rule ignored since the units were removed (page 12)?

    • NO – Usually when playing special cards that remove units you ignore the local resistance rule, but this is an exception: “Units who are removed outside of the context of a battle do not trigger the Local Resistance Rule” – page 12. The Drone special card is played in the context of a battle and so, in the above scenario, it would lead to the local resistance rule being triggered.

Drone vs Anti-Air – I played drone when attacking an opponent. My opponent wants to play Anti-air. Can he, and what happens?

    • YES HE CAN – The units that the attacker chooses to remove with drone are considered “attacking units” by Drone’s definition (meaning that they are essentially the normal 1-5 eligible units who could ordinarily perform an attack). The number of units who will be sacrificed are decided the moment that card was played (up to 5), in the context of the attack being declared. When the defender plays Anti-air, he removes up to two of those attacking units (essentially before they can inflict any harm). What that means is, if the attacker had committed up to 5 of his units with Drone (to inflict 5 losses on his opponent), 2 of those units are removed by Anti-air before Drone’s effect ever takes place, meaning that now only 3 units will be effected by Drone on either side. To put it another way – if the attacker played Drone and choose 3 units to sacrifice, and then the defender played Anti-air, Anti-air would remove those 2 units, meaning that Drone would now only remove 1 unit from both sides.

Infrastructure + Revolution –  If I play the Infrastructure card, could I immediately play a Revolution to use it again?

    • NO – With almost every other special card you could do something like this. However, the Infrastructure card doesn’t enter the discard pile immediately upon use. Instead, it gets placed in front of you until the round ends and only afterwards does it enter the discard pile. Since the Revolution card only targets cards in the discard pile, you’d have to wait until the Infrastructure card went there before you could retrieve it with Revolution.

Air Supremacy + Bonus Sea Zone Action – On my turn I moved units from a territory to a sea zone. I then played the Air Supremacy card to take a bonus action and decide to move the units I just used. Assuming those units move to another sea zone, could I then perform yet another bonus action with them, since they just moved from a sea zone to a sea zone (page 8)?

    • NO – In order to perform the additional sea zone bonus action, the units must have begun the turn in a sea zone. In the scenario above, those units began their turn on a territory.

Spark Unrest – On my opponent’s turn, an attack was just declared but no dice have been rolled yet. Could I play the Spark Unrest card to cancel my opponent’s turn at this point?

    • YES – This is specifically what the card was designed to handle. Your opponent has only declared an action – he hasn’t executed it yet. However, the moment he rolls his attack dice he’ll be in the process of executing his action. At that point you would no longer be able to play Spark Unrest.

Spark Unrest vs Alternative Action Special Cards (Nuclear Missile, ICBM, Paradrop) – On my opponent’s turn, he plays one of the special cards that reads, “play this card as an alternative to taking an action.” With the special card now revealed, can I play Spark Unrest to cancel his turn before he is able to execute the card’s instructions?

    • No – The moment that one of these particular special cards was revealed that action is considered to be executed (even if the card’s effect has various stages – like Paradrop).

Special Forces + Special Dice already rolled – During a round of combat I’ve already rolled my dice, including a block I rolled with a special die. I then play Special Forces, which grants me another bonus special die (now and during each subsequent round of combat), and also lets me change a special die’s “value” from a block to a kill or a kill to a block. That said, while I know I can change the value of dice I’m going to be rolling now and into the future, can I change the value of the block I just rolled before Special Forces was actually played?

    • YES – Any special dice you roll or have rolled during the round of combat that this card was played during are eligible to be changed.

Intercept vs Intercept – I just played a special card. An Intercept was used to cancel it. I have an Intercept card of my own. Could I use it to cancel my opponent’s Intercept so that my original special card can still be played?

    • YES – However, you need to do this immediately (you couldn’t let other events “elapse” in the mean time – like subsequent actions, additional turns, additional rounds of combat, or other special cards being played).

Using Revolution to take an Intercept from the discard pile to cancel a card just played – On my turn I just moved units into a sea zone and my opponent plays Sub Strike, which removes 2 of those units. There is an Intercept card is in the discard pile. Could I immediately play Revolution to take the Intercept card from the discard pile, and then play it against the Sub Strike?

    • NO – The moment you played Revolution (or did anything else for that matter), the Sub Strike card “resolved”. While you could still retrieve the Intercept, the Sub Strike card isn’t being “played” anymore, meaning it can’t be targeted by Intercept.

Paradrop + Neutral Territories – Can I use a Paradrop to move units into a neutral territory?

    • NO – Neutral territories cannot be “controlled, occupied, moved into or attacked under any circumstances” (page 3).

Conversion + Neutral Territories – Can I use Conversion to place units into a neutral territory?

    • NO – Neutral territories cannot be “controlled, occupied, moved into or attacked under any circumstances” (page 3).

Paradrop + Convoy OR Air Supremacy – Since Paradrop makes 2 spaces adjacent for the rest of this turn, would playing a card like Convoy or Air Supremacy during the same turn allow me to continue to use that “link”, essentially letting me continue to “jump over” the connecting space?

    • YES – However, note that if you use Paradrop to attack that space, you still only get the one round of combat to take it (you couldn’t use Air Supremacy for a second shot). That said, you could use Air Supremacy or Convoy to essentially get around only moving the survivors into the conquered space, since the extra action you’d be performing between the two spaces would be a move now, not an attack.

All units are removed from an original capital city but no one takes it – An opponent uses a Nuclear Missile or an ICBM against the territory containing my original capital city and all of my units are removed. Since I don’t control my original capital city now, and since my opponent didn’t take it, where does that start location card go and who controls it right now?

    • For the time being, no one “owns” it. Place it to the side of the table. Whatever faction next occupies that space, that faction will take the card.

Using a Nuclear Missile,  ICBM or Rocket Fire against a friendly faction/against my own faction – Attacks can only be declared against an opponent’s faction (page 8), not a friendly faction or against one’s self.  That said, the Nuclear Missile, ICBM or Rocket Fire special cards don’t directly state that I have to target an opposing faction (instead they target spaces). Could I use those cards against a friendly faction or against my own faction (the faction whose turn it is) since I’m not technically attacking them?

    • YES – Although this really isn’t in the spirit of the game, you could definitely do this if you really wanted to. And if you used a Rocket Fire, and the space you took contained a point of interest, you’d still be allowed to draw a special card.

Special Forces vs Special Forces – Blue is attacking Red. Blue plays Special Forces, giving him a bonus special die, and also allowing him to treat blocks as kills and vice versa. Red then plays its own Special Forces, giving him the same ability. During a round of combat, Blue makes one of his special die blocks a kill and then Red responds to this by making one of his special die kills a block. Can Blue then decides to change the outcome again, treating his block again as a block? Could Red then reverse his decision too? Is there any way to resolve this from going on and on forever?

    • So in this situation, once Blue has decided to change the outcome, Red would get the final reaction, since he played his Special Forces after Blue (even if we allowed for infinite transformations of the dice, Red would still get the “final” reaction – so we can skip all possible transformations and impose the rule during the outcome’s first iteration). This would not only apply to the present round of combat, but to each round of combat until the battle ends. Now there is a caveat here: if after both parties have made their decisions, Blue then gains another special die (perhaps through desperate fighting), he could change that die’s outcome AFTER the other dice have already been resolved. Of course, Red could then attempt to add additional special dice as well, and then those would be decided after Blue’s.

Carrier Support vs Desperate Fighting or Special Forces – If I play a Carrier Support, which prevents my opponent from rolling special dice for the duration of a battle, can my opponent roll new special dice via Desperate Fighting or by playing a Special Forces?

    • NO – Its not that Special Forces or Desperate Fighting couldn’t be played/initiated, its just that any dice they’d generate would be cancelled by Carrier Support, since Carrier Support’s effect last for the duration of the battle. This is one of the more difficult card interactions to understand, since at first glance, it might seem to be contradicted by the competing card rules on page 12. However, that rule just covers the resolution of cards in time – that one cards resolves after the other – it doesn’t say that cards which have a continuing effect are negated simply because a new card is played after it. So in this case, Carrier Supports effect still persist (since it last for the remainder of the battle), regardless of when any new special dice might be introduced.

Can you use the bonus sea action to move through a sea zone controlled by a friendly faction?

    • NO –  Friendly factions cannot move through one another’s spaces (page 4).
Copyright © 2015 Little Nukes Games. All rights reserved.